Enterprise E paints

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

acemccloud

Enterprise E paints

Post by acemccloud »

Hey all, first post here.

Firstly, Im a newbie to trek modelling, my brother used to build the amt/ertl kits it in the early 90s and we recently found them when he was moving house. He never painted any of them so I was originally gonna buy some paint and have a go at his excelsior or reliant.

But, after spending hours on here and other sites looking at the amazing work that people are doing I've decided to have a go at building my own kit.

My brother got out of modelling before the Enterprise E was made, and after the refit I think its the coolest looking enterprise.

I've decided on the AMT/round 2 1/4000 kit, and I'd really like to do it justice. I havent modeled in years (last things I built were some airfix choppers and an airwolf kit from ebay about 8 years ago), so I know im gonna be fairly rusty.

Theres no model shop in my town so I'll be buying all the stuff online.

Can anyone let me know what I'll need to do a decent job on this? What tools will I need,, glue, types of paintbrushes? what types of paint to use? what colour paints to get? (I'd be doing it as seen in first contact).

I know there is a colour chart which I've seen on some threads here but I'm not sure which specific colours to buy.

Sorry if this is the wrong forum, I put it here as the paints are my main issue.

Thanks
Alan
modeler1964

Post by modeler1964 »