Fiber Optics and Super-glue?

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

SGluedMyFingers

Fiber Optics and Super-glue?

Post by SGluedMyFingers »

OK. I'm just beginning to work with fiber optics and I have already had my share of problems with super glue. However, I have been using it recently (with an accelerator) to secure fibers on my first attempt (TIE Interceptor Cockpit).

I read somewhere that someone else had done this "prior to his knowing better" :| and lost a number of his fibers. Anyone know anything about this? The fibers that I have glued so far don't appear to be affected. Yeah, the outside of the fiber is a bit crazed, but it still trasmits light.

Should I anticipate any problems here? With such a tight spot as the interceptor cockpit, I really need to be able to secure fibers instantly.
Last edited by SGluedMyFingers on Tue Dec 06, 2005 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
seam-filler

Post by seam-filler »

Very thin fibres can be affected by the heat generated by the curing CA. This can vary from destroying the outer layer (which is what keeps the light within the fibre) down to melting the thing completely.
"I'd just like to say that building large smooth-skinned models should be avoided at all costs. I now see why people want to stick kit-parts all over their designs as it covers up a lot of problems." - David Sisson
Marcal

Post by Marcal »

I tried Super Glue in my first attempt with FO and everything was a mess. All the fibers broken... :? Finally I found to be useful this way: put the FO through the hole and keep it fixed to the model for the inner side with an adhesive tape. Use epoxy glue to fix the fibe to the model (once again for the inner side) where the FO meets the hole. Once it is dry, you can remove the tape and go on...

hope it helps :P
SGluedMyFingers