"hotness" of plastic glues?

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

amrogers3

"hotness" of plastic glues?

Post by amrogers3 »

I understand some of the liquid glues for plastic are hotter than others and melt plastic at a faster rate. Trying to find a comparison of Plastiweld, Tenax, etc.

I am trying to find a brand that is not so hot as I am discovering my seams are forming a valley when I apply the liquid weld glue. I think I am using Plast-I-weld, the same guys who make the Touch-n-flow applicator which I also use to apply the glue sparingly.
EVApodman

Re: "hotness" of plastic glues?

Post by EVApodman »

Tenax is a very hot glue. Testors liquid is milder and I prefer to use it for my modeling. i have no experience with MEK type glue or one made fro use with ABS plastic which is similar to but different to styrene and regular plastic cement won't work as well with it.
"Nothing to do now but drink a beer and watch the universe die."
"Basically what I do everyday."

I AM Spartacus!
I'm Batman.

Don't believe everything you see on the Internet!- Abraham Lincoln

Oh my God!! It's full of plastic peanuts!

Today is a good day to model!
MillenniumFalsehood

Post by MillenniumFalsehood »

One of my favorite go-to "low-temp" welders is actually lacquer thinner. This stuff is amazing because it'll bond small parts without liquifying them like Tenax. I like to use it when welding thin styrene strips and tiny kit parts because there's no risk of it marring the sharp edges and it evaporates very quickly, making it set much faster than "hot" welders. You can sand the joint within seconds of bonding. You do sometimes have to do more than one application if it evaporated before properly liquifying the plastic, but it will weld the part just fine.
If a redhead works at a bakery, does that make him a gingerbread man?